Chair and Board of Directors

Committees,  Committee Chairpersons and Duties

We need your help! Please volunteer today to assist on a committee. Email the committee chairperson of your choice.
For further details of the activities of each committee see FISC Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs)



The Bylaws Committee proposes appropriate bylaws amendments and incorporates approved amendments into the bylaws. The bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of members present at any legally constituted meeting of the FISC.  

Chair:  Brian Lockwood
National Park Service

CISMA (Cooperative Invasive Species Management Area) Grant

The CISMA Grant Committee is responsible for providing funding and soliciting grant proposals from Florida CISMAs who will advance the FISC and the Florida Invasive Species Partnership (FISP) missions through partnership led efforts (e.g. events, workshops, workdays, outreach, etc.), which focus on non-native invasive plants and their impacts on the natural areas and economy of Florida.

Chair: Deb Stone
Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Control and Evaluation

The Control and Evaluation Committee develops field demonstration sites to educate FISC members and the public about the most effective methods for controlling invasive plants.

Chair: Greg MacDonald
UF/IFAS Agronomy Department
Professor of Agronomy and Weed Science
(352) 294-1594

Education Grant

The Education Grant Committee reviews proposals submitted to the FISC Kathy Craddock Burks Education and Outreach Grants Program. These grants support education programs aimed at increasing awareness and knowledge of invasive plants throughout Florida.

Chair: Sarah Martin
South Florida Land Conservation Coordinator
The Nature Conservancy
Office: +1 561 744 6668 Ext. 102


The Finance Committee oversees the financial matters of the FISC and develops recommendations regarding finance-related issues for the FISC Board of Directors that represent the best interest and financial well-being of the organization.

Chair: Allegra Buyer Seminole County Natural Lands 850-245-3112


The Legislative Committee keeps the FISC Board and members informed about existing, pending, or needed legislative or regulatory actions and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors concerning the course of action to be taken.

Chair: Melissa Smith
USDA-ARS Invasive Plant Research Laboratory


The Membership Committee maintains the membership database with information provided by the Treasurer and online membership renewals, provides current mailing lists of the membership to the Board as needed, notifies members when renewals are due, and assists the Board with developing membership strategies/campaigns.

Chair: Sherry Williams


The Nominations Committee makes recommendations to the Board of Directors on future Board members. The Past Chair may serve as Nominations Committee Chair.

Chair: Jim Burney
Aquatic Vegetation Control, Inc.
(561) 845-5525


The Outreach Committee provides outreach concerning the activities of the FISC.

Chair: Christen Mason
South Florida Water Management District
(561) 707-2327

Plant Industry Liaison

The Plant Industry Liaison Committee maintains a dialogue with the nursery industry to identify areas of agreement and cooperation between FISC and the industry, explore resolution of disagreements, and to clarify misperceptions held by either group.

Chair: Vacant

Plant List

The Plant List Committee develops and maintains a list of Florida's most invasive plant species. The list is updated every two years.

Co-Chair: Dennis Giardina
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

Co-Chair: Erick Revuelta
St Johns River Water Management District

Research Grant

The Research Grant Committee determines research priorities as requested by the Board of Directors. Reviews research proposals submitted to the FISC Julia Morton Invasive Plant Research Grants Program and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors.

Chair: Carey Minteer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Weed Biological Control
Indian River Research and Education Center
2199 South Rock Road, Ft. Pierce
(772) 577-7379

Strategic Planning

SOP's being developed

Chair: Sherry Williams
Seminole County Natural Lands Program
Ed Yarborough Nature Center
(407) 349-0551

Symposium Planning:


The Merchandise Committee makes recommendations to the Board on FISC merchandise to be sold at annual symposium for fund-raising.

Chair: Erick Revuelta
St. Johns River Water Management District
(305) 667-1651 x 3515

Silent Auction

Chair: Christen Mason
South Florida Water Management District
(561) 246-7806

Symposium CEUs

The Symposium CEU Committee makes arrangements for Continuing Education Units at the annual symposium related to the goals and objectives of the FISC.

Chair: Christen Mason
South Florida Water Management District
(561) 707-2327

Symposium Field Trips

The Symposium Field Trips Committee makes arrangements, disseminates information, and handles registration for field trips at the annual symposium.

Chair: Cody-Marie Miller
TNC Disney Wilderness Preserve
2700 Scrub Jay Trail
(407) 935-0002 x 128
Kissimmee, FL 34759

Symposium Local Arrangements

The Local Arrangements Committee makes arrangements for the annual symposium site and associated physical requirements of the FISC's annual symposium.

Chair: Carl "C.J." Greene
Conservation Commission
(407) 349-0551

Symposium Program

The Symposium Program Committee develops the objectives and theme for the annual symposium and implements the annual symposium program.

Chair: Taylor Clark
St Johns River Water Management District


The Sponsors Committee serves as liaison with vendors and manufacturers of herbicides, adjuvants, equipment, and invasive control services to gain financial support for activities that further the goals and mission of the FISC.

Chair: Katherine Murray
Environmental Quality, Inc.
(561) 575-6778


The Website Committee maintains and updates the official FISC website in accordance with the guidelines determined by the Board and facilitated by the Website Liaison.

Chair: Chuck Bargeron
University of Georgia
Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
(229) 386-3298

Website Committee Liaison

Lynn Proenza
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission


Task Forces

Each FISC Species Task Force provides an ongoing forum to share information about the biology, distribution and control of the involved species. Each Task Force shall develop a statewide management plan, generate fact sheets, brochures, etc., and maintain a clearinghouse file of information on the involved species. Each Task Force Chair serves as the primary point of contact to the general public, policy makers, and the media on matters related to the involved species.

Brazilian Pepper

Chair: Dale A. Halbritter
USDA-ARS Invasive Plant Research Laboratory

Chinese Tallow

Chair: Greg Wheeler
USDA/ARS Invasive Plant Research
(954) 475-6546


Chair: Christopher Kerr
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Plant Industry
Methods Development and Biological Control
(352) 395-4746


Chair: Greg MacDonald
University of Florida
Department of Agronomy
(352) 294-1594


Chair: LeRoy Rodgers III
South Florida Water Management District
(561) 682-2773